Saturday 10 December 2022
  • :
  • :
[adrotate group="1"]
[adrotate group="4"]

City Recognizes Firefighters in Promotion Ceremony

By Staff


fireMayor Stephanie Miner has presided over a promotion ceremony, formally elevating 11 firefighters to new positions as officers in the Syracuse Fire Department, city officials stated. In addition, Miner presented 17 firefighters with commendations for their actions in the line of duty.

“Syracuse firefighters keep our community safe every day, and it’s an honor to recognize them for the work they have done,” the mayor said. “I thank them for their service, and appreciate the continued work they do for the people of the city.”

The following firefighters have been promoted to positions as officers:

  • Deputy Chief Timothy Hess;
  • Captains Colin Duffy, Jeffrey Kite, John Kane, and Keith Muhammad;
  • and Lieutenants Timothy Gleason, Jason Page, Richard Rothery, Seth Shapess, Roseanne Wood-Rautenstrauch, and Eric Yetman.

In addition, these firefighters have also received awards:

  • Awards of Valor: Lt. Ed. Kozakowski; Randy Allen; Chris Clayton; Joe Coppola Jr.; Louis Edwards; Derek Foster; and Jeff Hess.
  • Team Citations: Dan Connors; Lt. John Lisi; Brian Orr; Jeff Satalin; Joshua Griffin; Jim Cervino; Matt Scheirer; and Peter Conover.
  • Individual Citations: Seth Shapess; and Dan Orr.

The city held the ceremony May 19, at the Palace Theater, 2384 James St.